Recipient of Marie Mullen Bursary Announced

Druid is delighted to announce dramaturg Eleanor White as the recipient of the inaugural Marie Mullen Bursary which was open to female theatre artists working in Ireland in the fields of direction, dramaturgy and design.

Named after actor and Druid co-founder, Marie Mullen, the award is intended to address the historic imbalance of female representation in theatre and to support the professional development of women in Irish theatre. A selection panel comprising Druid Artistic Director Garry Hynes, Director Oonagh Murphy and Director of Lime Tree Theatre Louise Donlon determined a shortlist of applicants for interviews which took place in mid June.

“The quality and quantity of applicants was uplifting and we believe signals a bright future for Irish theatre. We were really impressed by the talent and intelligence of the women we interviewed and it was very difficult to pick one person” said Artistic Director Garry Hynes. ‘We are delighted to have Eleanor on board – she is an extremely competent, intelligent, committed person and we look forward to working with her over the next year.”  

Eleanor is delighted to be the inaugural recipient of the Marie Mullen bursary.  “I am galvanized by Druid’s acknowledgement of, and respect for, the fundamental role that dramaturgy plays in the production process. Bursaries that encourage the professional development of dramaturgs are rare in this country, and the Marie Mullen Bursary not only honours an exceptional theatre artist, but is a truly unique opportunity for me to further my career. I am so grateful to Garry Hynes and to Druid for this tremendous opportunity and I can’t wait to get to work.”  

Eleanor will come on board as Assistant Dramaturg for Richard III and will also act as dramaturg on a Druid Debut in 2019. She will receive a stipend of €2,000 along with mentoring, and access to workshops on Druid’s other development programmes such as FUEL and New Writing.

Druid acknowledges the generous support of Thomas & Penny Campbell Jackson in making the Marie Mullen Bursary possible.