Irish Times Irish Theatre Awards nominations for The Last Return

The Last Return has earned two nominations for this year's Irish Times Irish Theatre Awards

4 February 2023

We are delighted to share the news that The Last Return by Sonya Kelly has been nominated twice for this year's Irish Times Irish Theatre Awards.

The cast has been nominated for the Best Ensemble award and cast member Anna Healy has also been nominated for Best Supporting Actress.

As well as these nominations, The Last Return has been shortlisted for the Audience Choice Prize at this year's awards. You can vote for the Audience Choice Prize here, voting closes on 24 February.

Last year, The Last Return won a Scotsman Fringe First Award during its run at Edinburgh Fringe Festival and was a finalist for The Susan Smith Blackburn Prize 2022.

Congratulations to all the nominees for this year's Irish Times Theatre Awards - 2022 was an incredibly exciting year for Irish theatre. We look forward to celebrating with our friends across the industry at the awards ceremony on Sunday 26 March. See the full list of nominations here.

We also wish to thank the judges, Gerry Godley, Nicholas Grene and Lorelei Harris, who travelled the length and breadth of the country over the past 12 months to see the work of Irish theatre companies.

Directed by Sara Joyce, The Last Return is about to embark on an 8-venue tour of Ireland, beginning in Roscommon this coming week. This national tour follows three runs in 2022, at Galway International Arts Festival, Edinburgh Festival Fringe and Dublin Theatre Festival.

Earlier this week, it was announced that our 2022 production of The Cavalcaders by Billy Roche has also been nominated for a number of theatre awards. Directed by Aaron Monaghan, the play has received 5 nominations in the 2023 Waterford News & Star Green Room Awards.

These five nominations are: Best Play, Best Director for Aaron Monaghan, Best Male Performance for Garrett Lombard, Best Supporting Actress for Éilish McLaughlin, and Best Supporting Actor for Naoise Dunbar. You can read more about the Green Room Awards 2023 here.

Image: The Last Return, photo by Ste Murray