The Marie Mullen Bursary 2024

Applications are now open for the Marie Mullen Bursary 2024

4 September 2023

The Marie Mullen Bursary is an annual award for women working on the island of Ireland as theatre artists in the fields of design, directing and dramaturgy.

Applications for the 2024 Marie Mullen Bursary are now open. The deadline for applications is Friday 6 October at 5pm. All applicants will be contacted by November 2023.

Named in honour of actor and Druid co-founder, Marie Mullen, the bursary is intended to address a historic imbalance and to support the professional development of women in Irish theatre.

The bursary is open to women working as designers, directors and dramaturgs who have a proven commitment to Irish theatre and are currently residing on the island of Ireland.

This bursary provides the chosen theatre artist with the time, physical resources and mentoring necessary to support their work.

Bursary winners often continue to work with Druid following the completion of their bursary years. In 2023, four bursary winners formed part of the creative team for DruidO'Casey:

  • Co-Costume Designer: Clíodhna Hallissey (2019-2020 Bursary Winner)
  • Associate Director: Sarah Baxter (2020-2021 Bursary Winner)
  • Assistant Director: Katie O'Halloran (2022 Bursary Winner)
  • Assistant Lighting Designer: Suzie Cummins (2023 Bursary Winner)

Bursary winners receive: a residency with Druid on a upcoming mainstage production in 2024; a one-to-one session with Marie Mullen on working in the theatre industry; mentoring opportunities with theatre professionals; for directors and dramaturgs, a contract to act as dramaturg or director for a Druid Debut; opportunities to engage with the Druid Ensemble; opportunities to attend FUEL and Druid Academy workshops and events; a bursary award of €2,000.

The Marie Mullen Bursary is supported by Thomas Campbell Jackson & Penny Jackson.

Image credit: Sarah Baxter (2020-2021 Bursary Winner), Katie O'Halloran (2022 Bursary Winner), Clíodhna Hallissey (2019-2020 Bursary Winner), Suzie Cummins (2023 Bursary Winner); photo by Ste Murray.